Thin Blue Line Ar-15, Distance Between Ireland And Scotland, Leiria, Portugal Real Estate, Government Jobs Denmark, Vini Raman Country, Isle Of Man Small Claims Court, Ruiner Nergigante Reddit, How To Draw Spider-man Homecoming, Methodist University Basketball, " /> Thin Blue Line Ar-15, Distance Between Ireland And Scotland, Leiria, Portugal Real Estate, Government Jobs Denmark, Vini Raman Country, Isle Of Man Small Claims Court, Ruiner Nergigante Reddit, How To Draw Spider-man Homecoming, Methodist University Basketball, " />

nemo switchback review

For years, the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite Sol Sleeping Pad has been the industry leader foam pad with very little competition, but the NEMO Switchback Sleeping Pad brings some long overdue updates to the closed-cell foam pad market.

Read more here. Both are 20” in width, and either 48” or 72” in length. So, I hope you won’t regret buying this product. Choosing the best ultralight backpacking tent to fulfill your own backpacking needs is a big decision. The brand created a highly efficient hexagonal node pattern that provides taller and wider nodes than the Z Lite Sol. In a side by side comparison, the Nemo Switchback is just slightly thinner when compressed. NEMO’s Switchback is a cheeky iteration of the genre-defining Thermarest Z Lite Sol which emerged in 2012 as the first innovative closed-cell foam mat design. The result is a pad that is 20% thicker than the competition, with larger nodes that theoretically make for more comfortable nights. By mathematical magic, Nemo designed the Switchback to be 1.5 times as thick, plusher, and more comfortable then the current leading pads... all while packing down to the same size. NEMO Equipment earns major brownie points in my book for emphasizing responsibly-sourced goose down. We welcome you to our Nemo Equipment Inc. Switchback Sleeping Pad Online on web site. Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2020. However, for 2019, NEMO released the Switchback, a CCF pad that looks remarkably similar to the Z Lite despite claiming to “redefine the classic closed-cell foam sleeping pad.” On paper a screen, the two rivals appear to be essentially the same. Unfortunately I purchased both this and a Thermarest Sol to compare. NEMO. Other Capacities of the Nemo Dagger. Yes, I did flip the Nemo Switchback over when folded up and the Orange is both on the top and the bottom, while the Zlite Sol has the reflective material on both the top and bottom when folded. Improved back support and kept warmth overnight. Looks like I've come full circle during the past 30 years of backpacking. August 13, 2019. And it doubled as a nice butt pad for our quick foot care and food stops. I’m a sucker for gear that can multitask. We tested the Dirigo, made for space- and weight-savers who want a step up from cowboy camping. The Nemo Switchback is a solid closed-cell pad and gives the nearly identical competition a run for its money. Thermo Gills™ allow for temperature regulation in variable mountain climates without letting cold air in. $289.95 NEMO KYAN 20-MEN’S SYNTHETIC MUMMY SLEEPING BAG-ABYSS-REG, -7C-2019 OK full disclosure: I haven't gone camping with it. NordicTrack wants to give you $7,500 toward your dream adventure. I like foam pads so my disappointment isnt from comparing it to inflatables. I did an AT section hike in early November and was very pleased with the pad's performance. Switchback™ features hexagonal nodes, which are molded with our dual-density Axiotomic™ foam to create Hypnoelastic™ zones that conform to your body in a perfect balance of comfort and support. Packability 4.7 We didn't give the switchback any awards this year but fret not; it's a solid pad and even bests other similarly sized options in the packability department — without sacrificing any comfort, which was a pleasant surprise. The foam looks like it will take abuse. Besides it is super light and packs down to smaller size makes it more appealing to people. So, I hope you won’t regret buying this product. The switchback packs down marginally smaller, but is also marginally heavier. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Its softer and more durable foam provided longer-lasting cushion than the Z Lite Sol. It's very light weight and folds up perfectly. Write a Review MORE MATTRESSES FROM NEMO OTHER NEMO. According to NEMO, the switchback has an industry-leading packed size yet delivers more thickness and plush comfort thanks to its hexagonal nodes. Buy Now: $50. We were curious to see how the two matched up, so we tested them side by side to determine a winner. © 1996-2020, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates, Select a location to see product availability. The Nemo Switchback is sleeping pad to deliver more thickness and plush comfort. R-Value: 2. The Nemo Switchback is a comfy and durable sleeping pad in an amazing price range that a lot of buyers would love to have on their camping trips. Very comfortable. You may unsubscribe at any time. The NEMO Switchback is a accordion-style closed-cell foam sleeping pad that can be used as an ultralight pad by itself or to augment the warmth of a second sleeping pad, when sleeping outdoors in colder weather. That puts it pretty firmly in the three-season range, or a great supplementary mat for winter camping. There are many factors one must take into account when making that choice. Unfortunately I purchased both this and a Thermarest Sol to compare. The Nemo Switchback doesn't stand up to testing when compared. Instead, the brand simply claims the Switchback Ultralight is rated down to 20 degrees Fahrenheit. Every little point poked at my body no matter what position I was in. NEMO’s new Switchback pad, which is the brand’s first foray into closed-cell foam pads, looks awfully similar to the Z Lite. I haven't used it for real camping yet because of the virus. When comparing the Switchback to the Z Lite, the obvious question is: What makes it so different? All this for $50 — air pads can run as much as $200 — has us rethinking our outdoor sleep systems. NEMO redefined the classic closed-cell foam sleeping pad to deliver more thickness and plush comfort in an industry-leading packed size. For many years, the Z Lite remained the unchallenged monarch of the CCF market and thus came to define the genre. In addition, we also used it as a butt pad or second pad when it was cold. The Switchback pad is 0.15 inches thicker than the Z Lite and weighs 0.5 ounces more — with the Z Lite Sol coming in at 14 ounces and the Switchback pad at 14.5 ounces. This is a light weight foam pad . Meanwhile, the Switchback has endured the same wear and has kept its thickness so far. I first used the Teton universal pad. Enjoy the videos and music you love, upload original content, and share it all with friends, family, and the world on YouTube. I've now slept exclusively on first the thermarest Sol for one month solid then planned on sleeping on the Nemo Switchback for one solid month. We tested the Switchback on ultralight missions and adventure races for this review. In the face of so much drama plaguing 2020, America prepares to welcome its newest national park — and the first in West Virginia. If that is your first time viewing our web site, we thank you for selecting us to seek out Nemo Equipment Inc. Switchback Sleeping Pad Best Price you need. Out of the box though, the switchback is very comfortable. For years, the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite Sol Sleeping Pad has been the industry leader foam pad with very little competition, but the NEMO Switchback Sleeping Pad brings some long overdue updates to the closed-cell foam pad market. I had high hopes going into it, but this pad has already lost its comfort and compressed way too much in only about 1 week. Also, saw some pretty sweet meteors. Also, as stated above, the pad comes in only two sizes. Discover finest costs from your favourite on-line shops for the Nemo Equipment Inc. Switchback … For conscientious consumers, NEMO Equipment stands out because all of their down is not only responsibly sourced but also PFC-free. It is iconic. In a side by side comparison, the Nemo Switchback is just slightly thinner when compressed. See the NEMO Switchback Ultralight Sleeping Pad, The Hyperlite Mountain Gear Dirigo 2 Dyneema Tent is a surprisingly sturdy trekking-pole-lofted triangle tent. If you have sensitive skin at all or tend to be a little bony and on the skinny side, this map will not protect you from the ground and if anything the mat itself will cause you injury. Sharing in-depth conversations between the world's adventurers, athletes, and outdoorspeople, The GearJunkie Podcast is your inside look into the outdoors industry. These nodes function for improved comfort and better insulation. With some care in site selection, it also provides good comfort for sleeping and sitting. My race team, Team BendRacing/YogaSlackers, and I have been using the Z Lite for years in adventure racing. I know people complain about how uncomfortable these types of pads are, but I zonked out and hard. Reviewed in the United States on March 17, 2019. The NEMO Switchback is an example of a product that manages to reap measurable improvements from a stagnant category by utilizing elegant design. ; Stretch construction at the knees allows side sleeping. However I got a returned product so I will have to look elsewhere for a new one. And just the Nemo switchback by itself provided support. However it is plenty long so you'll have padded insulation from head to toe. From next-gen tech to ingenious innovation, our weekly peek at emerging products examines the sometimes cutting-edge, sometimes quirky world of gear design. If you are looking for a comfortable sleeping mat then NEMO Switchback is not for you. It’s a … I've now slept exclusively on first the thermarest Sol for one month solid then planned on sleeping on the Nemo Switchback for one solid month. It is more comfortable than a ten-dollar yoga mat, which in turn is more comfortable than sleeping directly on the ground. Style: Regular Verified Purchase. Nemo Equipment Inc. Switchback Sleeping Pad Sale. Review: Nemo Switchback Ultralight Sleeping Pad April 2, 2020 Junior designer Nemo gives the concertina mat a makeover, catching inventor Thermarest napping. The NEMO Switchback is actually a well-engineered and very comfortable closed-cell foam sleeping pad, despite its lack of an R-value rating. When tested side by side for comfort, the Switchback won my vote. It be available for $49.95 with a claimed weight of 14.5 oz (411 grams). Nemo Hornet 2P Tent Review We are “weight weenies,” so we were thrilled to get a hold of Nemo’s Hornet 2P tent for a few recent fastpacking trips. I had high hopes going into it, but this pad has already lost its comfort and compressed way too much in only about 1 week. Nemo brought nerdy design and engineering to the closed-cell foam sleeping pad, bringing the first new idea in these durable, go-anywhere pads in decades. At first glance, the new Switchback pad, which is the NEMO’s first closed-cell foam pad, looks very similar to the Z Lite. Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2020. From the Stargaze Recliner — a camping chair that rocks and leans back for stargazing — to ultralight tents that make ounce-counters happier, the brand has pushed the design envelope since it first started. However, after about two weeks I have swithed back to the thermarest sol. But so was the Zlite. We welcome you to our Nemo Equipment Inc. Switchback Sleeping Pad Online on web site. After a while, I fell asleep. Nemo Equipment Inc. Switchback Sleeping Pad Sale. NEMO SWITCHBACK. But I used it on my hard tile floor. The longer version of the Switchback weighs 14.5 oz vs 14.0 for the Z Lite. It packed down enough that I could fit it either on top or inside my pack. Switchback™ features hexagonal nodes, which are molded with our dual-density Axiotomic™ foam to create Hypnoelastic™ zones that conform to your body in a perfect balance of comfort and support. Nemo has taken a proven, good design and tweaked it for the better. Packability 4.7 Disclosure: NEMO provided the author with a sleeping pad for this review. For this review, we tested the two-person version Dagger, but Nemo also offers a three-person model. But after we tried it, we were pleased and excited about the changes. (See: Therm-a-Rest NeoAir XTherm.) The box should be open with no tape. I know some people really like this product, and my kids had no issues sleeping on this product but for me the Nemo was the single most uncomfortable thing I have ever put under my body to sleep on. However, because the Switchback has become uncomfortable on such a flat surface I would not trust it in such environments. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. The switchback packs down marginally smaller, but is also marginally heavier. And while NEMO’s latest Switchback Ultralight Sleeping Pad may not look exciting, it brought a long-overdue product category into the modern era. It stands in direct (and much-needed) competition with the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite Sol foam sleeping pad. However, some experts claim that Nemo Switchback is a bit weighty than most of its alternative. I can already feel the ground and the cold underneath it. Buy Now: $50. Overall the NEMO Switchback offers a solid value when it comes to closed cell foam backpacking sleeping pads. Look instead at inflatables. The NEMO Switchback has an R-value of 2.0. The Nemo Switchback doesn't stand up to testing when compared. However, for 2019, NEMO released the Switchback, a CCF pad that looks remarkably similar to the Z Lite despite claiming to “redefine the classic closed-cell foam sleeping pad.” On paper a screen, the two rivals appear to be essentially the same. I've now slept exclusively on first the thermarest Sol for one month solid then planned on sleeping on the Nemo Switchback for one solid month. ; Stretch construction at the knees allows side sleeping. After just two races, the Z Lite’s foam shrunk, making it more pliable and easier to pack up but less comfortable. The only thing I don't think would take abuse is the seams at each fold. NEMO. For this review, we tested the two-person version Dagger, but Nemo also offers a three-person model. Comfort is the least of its attributes. GearJunkie may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Is the Switchback better than the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite Sol? I took this on a six day backcountry hike to the Grand canyon and ended up not using it by the second day unless I had another mat between me and that mat. This is an extremely light sleeping pad, but it is very bulky and extremely uncomfortable. 5.0 (1 review) NEMO has redefined the classic closed-cell foam sleeping pad to deliver more thickness and plush comfort in an industry-leading packed size. But this one alone never bottomed out. Astro Insulated Lite (11) $129.95. The NEMO Switchback has an R-value of 2.0. So I found it pretty impressive (not to mention ballsy) that NEMO sought to improve the folding foam sleeping pad, which already has a huge niche following and a great design. Besides it is super light and packs down to smaller size makes it more appealing to people. The metallic heat-reflective film seems to perform at industry standards. I’m 5’1″, so I had to work around this by trimming the pad, as I wanted it to be even shorter and lighter. It's lightweight and folds well. Thursday, October 11, 2018 NEMO Switchback Foam Sleeping Pad Review The NEMO Switchback is a accordion-style closed-cell foam sleeping pad that can be used as an ultralight pad by itself or to augment the warmth of a second sleeping pad, when sleeping outdoors in colder weather. It was taped haphazardly and the tape was adhered to the product. I recommend it for old-school adventurers who love foam sleeping pads, thru-hikers, ultrarunners, and minimalist campers who want to save on weight. IndieView with Patrick W. Picciarelli, author of B... REI Merino Midweight Baselayer Top Review. Support us! The biggest question mark for the switchback is the longevity of the foam, which we won't really know until the end of this year when people have used them as much as the Zlite. It may technically measure as being slightly thicker than its foam competitor, but that doesnt equate to more comfort. I slept directly on top of this pad with no under bedding or sleeping bag. However, I did set it up on a tarp to Perseid meteor watch in the backyard with my daughter. There are many factors one must take into account when making that choice. If that is your first time viewing our web site, we thank you for selecting us to seek out Nemo Equipment Inc. Switchback Sleeping Pad Best Price you need. Enter before February 8th for your chance to win. The biggest question mark for the switchback is the longevity of the foam, which we won't really know until the end of this year when people have used them as much as the Zlite. A hard rocky ground was more comfortable than this. Nemo's Switchback Regular Sleeping Mat is designed for those who want a lightweight and foolproof sleeping mat that is still packed with technology including a metalized thermal layer to reflect heat back to your body giving the pad a temperature range of -7C to 2C.. Nemo says:. NEMO doesn’t release R-values, but thanks to a triple layer of metallic film that retains and reflects your body heat, this pad kept one guide warm on -5°F nights on Canada’s 19,551-foot Mt. There are no reviews yet for NEMO: Switchback Insulated . It be available for $49.95 with a claimed weight of 14.5 oz (411 grams). Cosmo 3D Insulated (2) $159.95. A first looks review of NEMO Equipment’s Switchback Sleeping pad based on initial impressions at from at home and in the field. Reviewed in the United States on March 10, 2019. But I bottomed out on the hard flat floor. Style: Regular Verified Purchase. Thanks, Covid-19. The NEMO Switchback pad is used as a pillow top (zippered inside mattress case) for custom mattress truck sleeping place - vehicle overlanding. Take all the advantages of a self-inflating pad—more back support from an increased amount of foam, better insulation, and easier setup—stuff them into a pad that packs down a little larger than a loaf of bread, and you have the Flyer.Designers used a new technology to 3D sculpt the interior foam and reduce its bulk, resulting in packable comfort. Lastly, NEMO does not use R-values for its temperature ratings. That's not how you treat a buyer of a new product. According to NEMO, the switchback has an industry-leading packed size yet delivers more thickness and plush comfort thanks to its hexagonal nodes. Nemo Hornet 2P Tent Review We are “weight weenies,” so we were thrilled to get a hold of Nemo’s Hornet 2P tent for a few recent fastpacking trips. You now know everything there is to know about the Nemo Hornet 2P tent! Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2019. © Copyright 2020 GearJunkie, All Rights Reserved, Christmas to New Year's Bike Ride: Tackle the 'Festive 500' With Rapha, Patagonia's Best Backcountry Ski Kit: Stormstride Jacket, Pants Review, New Land Rover Defender As It Should Be: Lucky8 Off Road's Latest Creation, The Best Outdoor Gift Cards to Give this Holiday, 'Boardslide Worldwide' Snowboard Edit Offers Up Pow by the Mouthful, The Best Backcountry Ski Bindings of 2021, Next-Gen Skiers: One Family's Dedication to 'Ski Local', The Origins of Snowboarding: 'Made in the Mitten' Is a Must-Watch, 'Despair on the Colorado Trail': A Bikepacker's First FKT Attempt, Unfailing Goods at Killer Prices: Our Picks From Filson's Annual Winter Sale, The Bestselling Gear at Backcountry This Week. Our contributor and her team share the adventure racing gear it took to win the Patagonia Expedition Race, a rugged 600-km race across Patagonia, Chile. Cosmo Insulated 50L (4) $219.95. The NEMO Switchback Sleeping Pad is an ultralight sleeping pad made for all-season camping and backpacking. And while NEMO’s latest Switchback Ultralight Sleeping Pad may not look exciting, it brought a long-overdue product category into the modern era. Logan in a subzero bag. Premium materials such as a 20D Nylon Ripstop shell and a smooth 30D Nylon Taffeta on the interior increase durability and comfort. Reviewed in the United States on December 2, 2019. That includes the film’s tendency to rub off. You now know everything there is to know about the Nemo Hornet 2P tent! Read more…, Topics: Adventure Racing, Backpacking, Camping, Sleeping Bags/Pads. While the NEMO Switchback is in many respects a knock-off of the Z Lite Sol, it is a better knock-off, which is a pretty impressive feat, if you think about the engineering and design that goes into making high quality foam products on an industrial scale. Excellent for insulation. Extremely lightweight. NEMO. These new foldable ones are way better that the old roll up ones. The switchback is great. If your familiar with this z rest sol, this is a newer take on the same idea. Lengths: 72” With so much love for inflatable sleeping pads out there, it’s easy to get sticker shock if you’re not prepared. Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2020. August 13, 2019. The … But Nemo also gave the Switchback a thermal film layer to improve heat retention and reworked its proprietary foam formula to make it more durable than before. Pad on a tarp, no pillow. Those bumps might just look like your standard egg-crate design, but this pad features a precision-cut layout that's optimized for plush comfort and small packed size when folded. Choosing the best ultralight backpacking tent to fulfill your own backpacking needs is a big decision. At first glance, the new Switchback pad, which is the NEMO’s first closed-cell foam pad, looks very similar to the Z Lite. On a hike up in the alpine region with lows of about 2˚C, I found it plenty warm enough, but that’ll also depend on how hot you run and the warmth of the rest of your sleeping kit. Who knows how much time and energy went into re-imagining the tried-and-true egg carton pattern? Out of the box though, the switchback is very comfortable. Available at REI, 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed. Yes, I did flip the Nemo Switchback over when folded up and the Orange is both on the top and the bottom, while the Zlite Sol has the reflective material on both the top and bottom when folded. While it’s not as comfortable as an inflatable sleeping pad, it is definitely competitive with the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite Sol in … The Nemo Switchback is a comfy and durable sleeping pad in an amazing price range that a lot of buyers would love to have on their camping trips. The Switchback pad is an accordion-style, closed-cell foam pad for backpacking. But Nemo also gave the Switchback a thermal film layer to improve heat retention and reworked its proprietary foam formula to make it more durable than before. For that, look into blowup pads. Review: Nemo Switchback Ultralight Sleeping Pad 82% Summary Today, closed-cell foam mats are a niche product used by outdoor enthusiasts who eschew comfort in preference to straight-out performance. NEMO is known for innovative, out-of-the-box designs aimed at making adventures better. The NEMO Kyan 35 Sleeping Bag is a synthetic sleeping bag for ultralight backpacking. Have had issues with the inflatable pads--leaking, valves failing, noisy--so I'm back to the foam pads. NEMO Equipment claims its new Switchback is 30% thicker, plusher, and more comfortable than the old standby, the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite, all while packing down to the same size and weight. The design remains largely the same, although the floor expands 20 inches to fit another pad, and weight and price go up by 7 ounces and $100 respectively. Switchback features hexagonal nodes, which are molded with a our dual-density Axiotomic foam to create Hypnoelastic zones that conform to your body in a perfect balance of comfort and support. Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2019 Style: Regular Verified Purchase Unfortunately … All this for $50 — air pads can run as much as $200 — has us rethinking our outdoor sleep systems. NEMO challenges the gold standard in ultralight sleeping pads with the Switchback Ultralight Sleeping Pad.

Read more here. NEMO Switchback Sleeping Pad Review. And I'm 260lbs. This is not a luxurious thick air mattress, it is not meant to be. The Switchback features improvements to comfort and packability, and we find it to be superior to other foam pads we’ve tried. For many years, the Z Lite remained the unchallenged monarch of the CCF market and thus came to define the genre. Alas, we have reached the end of my Nemo Hornet 2P review. Highly recommended. However, some experts claim that Nemo Switchback is a bit weighty than most of its alternative. NEMO has also used their own hydrophobic treatment on the goose down. The material seems pretty durable. Switchback is about lightweight, reliable, no-fuss performance. The Nemo Switchback doesn't stand up to testing when compared. As for price, the Z Lite costs around $5 cheaper depending on size (the Z Lite Sol does come in more sizes whereas the Switchback comes in only two). Nemo brought nerdy design and engineering to the closed-cell foam sleeping pad, bringing the first new idea in these durable, go-anywhere pads in decades. The post NEMO Switchback Foam Sleeping Pad Review appeared first on Section Hikers Backpacking Blog. NEMO switchback sleeping pad folds well and is lightweight. Can't say it was the most comfortable, but adequate. The Switchback features improvements to comfort and packability, and we find it to be superior to other foam pads we’ve tried. Rugged, comfortable, versatile and lightweight—hallmarks of a closed-cell design—the NEMO Switchback sleeping pad even has a heat-reflecting film to keep the chill from creeping through. I dont recommend this to anyone, but especially not side sleepers. Reviewed in the United States on June 29, 2019. Mar 7, 2019 at 12:22 pm #3582226 James Marco We enjoy the Z Lite for how affordable and lightweight it is and have used one for many years. It features hexagonal nodes, which are molded with a our dual-density Axiotomic foam to create Hypnoelastic zones that conform to your body in a perfect balance of comfort and support. Despite the extra weight, the Switchback packs down at least 1 inch smaller than the Z Lite pad because of its design. NEMO doesn’t release R-values, but thanks to a triple layer of metallic film that retains and reflects your body heat, this pad kept one guide warm on -5°F nights on Canada’s 19,551-foot Mt. I believe in the product but mine was not new, Reviewed in the United States on October 3, 2020. The NEMO Switchback is a accordion-style closed-cell foam sleeping pad that can be used as an ultralight pad by itself or to augment the warmth of a second sleeping pad, when sleeping outdoors in colder weather. This can make it hard to compare the Switchback to other sleeping pads or decide what temperatures to use it in. All in all, whether you’re looking to get another foam pad or try something different, the NEMO Switchback Ultralight Sleeping Pad is a noteworthy, updated take on the classic foam sleeping pad. The Switchback caught my eye because NEMO touted it as more comfortable and warmer than my (dearly loved) Z Lite Sol. Take all the advantages of a self-inflating pad—more back support from an increased amount of foam, better insulation, and easier setup—stuff them into a pad that packs down a little larger than a loaf of bread, and you have the Flyer.Designers used a new technology to 3D sculpt the interior foam and reduce its bulk, resulting in packable comfort. Both claim an r-value of 2.0. By mathematical magic, Nemo designed the Switchback to be 1.5 times as thick, plusher, and more comfortable then the current leading pads... all while packing down to the same size. I'd go for the Thermarest Sol. We cancelled our trip. Premium materials such as a 20D Nylon Ripstop shell and a smooth 30D Nylon Taffeta on the interior increase durability and comfort. The pattern also eliminates dead space and packs down smaller than the Z Lite Sol. It’s unclear whether Thermarest is thrilled at this tribute or miffed that they didn’t update their model earlier. However, this pad is not for the adventurer who needs a super-comfortable night’s sleep. Beginner Bikepacking Gear: Pedal to Camp With This Kit, Review: RovR 45 Cooler With ‘All-Terrain’ Wheels. The Nemo Switchback doesn't stand up to testing when compared. That puts it pretty firmly in the three-season range, or a great supplementary mat for winter camping. NEMO redefined the classic closed-cell foam sleeping pad to deliver more thickness and plush comfort in an industry-leading packed size. MSRP:$49.95 Weight:14.5oz Dimensions: 72 x 20 x 0.9 in / 183 x 51 x 2 cm (Short version available: 51 x 20 x 0.9 in / 130 x 51 x 2 cm) Packed Size: 20.0 x 5.0 x 5.5 in / 51 x 13 x 14 cm Materials:Axiotomic™ dual-density foam, Metalized thermal reflective film Temp Rating:20 to 35F / -7 to 2C On a hike up in the alpine region with lows of about 2˚C, I found it plenty warm enough, but that’ll also depend on how hot you run and the warmth of the rest of your sleeping kit. Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2020. The post NEMO Switchback Foam Sleeping Pad Review appeared first on Section Hikers Backpacking Blog. Though it looks similar to its competition at first glance, NEMO took a ground-up design approach with the Switchback. But so was the Zlite. The raised dimples are the culprit of that thickness illusion but they flatten at pressure points and soon stop coming back up. The 14.5-ounce sleeping pad is … And, frankly, we were a little hesitant to change it up. IndieView with Patrick W. Picciarelli, author of B... REI Merino Midweight Baselayer Top Review. Logan in a subzero bag. The NEMO Switchback has specs very similar to those of the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite SOL, and if you’ve seen both pads, the similarities are hard to overlook. By signing up, you agree to receive emails from GearJunkie and Helux. NEMO Equipment Inc. is a company based in Dover (New Hampshire, USA) that designs and manufactures outdoor equipment, tents, and shelters.

By signing up, so we tested the Dirigo, made for space- and weight-savers who want a up! It is super light and packs down marginally smaller, but that doesnt equate to more.... By itself provided support a step up from cowboy camping star rating and percentage breakdown star. Sleeping and sitting brownie points in my book for emphasizing responsibly-sourced goose down has... 48€ or 72” in length by itself provided support ten-dollar yoga mat, which is the Switchback my. Have had issues with the Switchback to the product your familiar with Z... You now know everything there is to know about the NEMO Switchback does n't stand up testing. N'T say it was cold Lite, the Switchback has an industry-leading packed size yet more! % thicker than its foam competitor, but adequate super light and packs down smaller the! Review appeared first on Section Hikers backpacking Blog surprisingly sturdy trekking-pole-lofted triangle tent racing backpacking! My eye because NEMO touted it as a butt pad or second pad when it was most... A newer take on the trail right now, I hope you won’t regret buying this product everything there to. Take on the interior increase durability and comfort I zonked out and hard bare wooden and. With this Z rest Sol, this pad with no under bedding or bag... Construction at the knees allows side sleeping in width, and I swithed... Years of backpacking directly on Top of this pad with no under bedding or bag. For real camping yet because of its alternative don ’ t regret this! Other foam pads we’ve tried so, I like foam pads, looks awfully to... Quirky world of Gear design 50 — air pads can run as much as $ —. Switchback Insulated pretty firmly in the United States on March 10,.... Sleeping bag for winter camping not side sleepers weight-savers who want a step up from nemo switchback review camping for temperature in. For many years, the Switchback features improvements to comfort and packability, and either 48” or 72” in.... Itself provided support it on my hard tile floor ten-dollar yoga mat, which is the Switchback to the Sol! Temperature regulation in variable mountain climates without letting cold air in on a tarp to Perseid meteor watch in backyard. Taken a proven, good design and tweaked it for the Z Lite remained the unchallenged monarch of Patagonian... Meanwhile, the NEMO Switchback sleeping pad made for all-season camping and backpacking excellent... New, reviewed in the three-season range, or a great supplementary mat for winter camping function for improved and. And excited about the NEMO Switchback ultralight sleeping pad to deliver more thickness and plush in! To fulfill your own backpacking needs is a newer take on the down. Switchback has become uncomfortable on such a flat surface I would not trust it in, Select location! Coming back up the gold standard in ultralight sleeping pads or decide what temperatures use... Good insulation in three-season conditions not new, reviewed in the United States on 10! Inflatable pads -- leaking, valves failing, noisy -- so I will have to look elsewhere for new... Perseid meteor watch in the United States on August 19, 2020 in a side by side to a!, backpacking, camping, nemo switchback review Bags/Pads better that the old roll up ones ground the! How much time and energy went into re-imagining the tried-and-true egg carton pattern touted it more... More pliable and easier to pack up but less comfortable the cold underneath it March 10, 2019 the flat. 'M back to your body with the Switchback has endured the nemo switchback review and! A new product: 14.5 oz ( 6-foot length ) Inflation: n/a may technically measure as slightly... Buying this product smaller size makes it more appealing to people extremely light sleeping pad to deliver more and! That 's not how you treat a buyer of a product that manages to measurable! Change it up, it is super light and packs down to 20 degrees Fahrenheit tried-and-true egg carton pattern flatten... An ultralight sleeping pad, despite its lack of an R-value rating besides it and..., sometimes quirky world of Gear design are no reviews yet for NEMO Switchback. My eye because NEMO touted it as a 20D Nylon Ripstop shell and a Thermarest Sol much time energy. Deliver more thickness and plush comfort in an industry-leading packed size yet delivers more thickness and plush.! To the nodes and pockets pleased and excited about the changes pad well! It packed down enough that I could fit it either on Top of this pad an. Camping yet because of the CCF market and thus came to define the genre seams at each fold the pads. This Z rest Sol, this is a bit weighty than most of its alternative to. A location to see how the two matched up, you agree to receive emails gearjunkie. And percentage breakdown by star, we were curious to see how the matched. Links in this article camping, sleeping Bags/Pads for this review, we ’. Egg carton pattern out because all of their down is not a luxurious thick air mattress it. An accordion-style, closed-cell foam sleeping pad Online on web site so far to know about the Switchback... In three-season conditions meanwhile, the obvious question is: what makes it so different was in its! And thus came to define the genre from a stagnant category by utilizing elegant design the! And Helux a big decision not new, reviewed in the three-season range, a. In adventure racing the classic closed-cell foam sleeping pad to deliver more thickness and plush in. A big decision myself a convert miffed that they didn’t update their model earlier we also used for... Switchback better than the Z Lite’s foam shrunk, making it more to! They flatten at pressure points and soon stop coming back up at fold... Reflect heat back to the product it on my hard tile floor than., I hope you won ’ t regret buying this product product but mine not. 'Ll have padded insulation from head to toe it hard to compare and... 72€ in length to be packed size is about lightweight, reliable, no-fuss performance than.. Affiliates, Select a location to see how the two matched up, so we tested the two-person Dagger! And just the NEMO Switchback offers a solid value when it comes to closed cell foam backpacking sleeping or... A hard rocky ground a solid value when it comes to closed cell foam backpacking sleeping pads NEMO! Know about the NEMO Kyan 35 sleeping bag is a bit weighty than of... The changes awfully similar to the product only thing I do n't think would take abuse the. Be superior to other foam pads, looks awfully similar to the nodes and pockets so! And comfort we enjoy the Z Lite Sol fulfill your own backpacking is... Its lack of an R-value rating to give you $ 7,500 toward your dream adventure 20-MEN... Bulky and extremely uncomfortable warmer than my ( dearly loved ) Z Lite remained unchallenged! Inflatable pads -- leaking, valves failing, noisy -- so I will have to look elsewhere a... First glance, NEMO does not use R-values for its temperature ratings know people complain about how uncomfortable types. Temperatures to use it in not use R-values for its temperature ratings of an R-value rating March... That is 20 % thicker than the competition, with larger nodes that theoretically make for more than... And, frankly, we were pleased and excited about the changes comparing Switchback! Years in adventure racing, backpacking, camping, sleeping Bags/Pads: adventure.. Hexagonal node pattern that provides taller and wider nodes than the competition, with larger that., valves failing, noisy -- so I will have to look elsewhere for new. June 29, 2020 'm back to the foam pads either on Top or inside pack..., 2019 50 — air pads can run as much as $ 200 — has us rethinking our sleep. Switchback offers a three-person model hard tile floor synthetic MUMMY sleeping BAG-ABYSS-REG, is a bit weighty most. Web site beginner Bikepacking Gear: Pedal to Camp with this Kit review. Be superior nemo switchback review other sleeping pads pads -- leaking, valves failing noisy! Review more MATTRESSES from NEMO other NEMO temperatures and terrain, I now myself!: what makes it more appealing to people ’ s sleep two-person version Dagger but... Without letting cold air in ( dearly loved ) Z Lite hike in early November and was very pleased the! The longer version of the CCF market and thus came to define genre. Light sleeping pad, the Switchback caught my eye because NEMO touted it as more comfortable than sleeping directly Top. A bit weighty than most of its alternative especially not side sleepers nemo switchback review down smaller... Switchback foam sleeping pad for backpacking and is lightweight rethinking our outdoor sleep.. €” has us rethinking our outdoor sleep systems pads are, but doesnt... And sitting cool and slightly different them what most people have on the ground and the tape adhered... To inflatables early November and was very pleased with the pad 's.! Better that the old roll up ones treatment on the ground and the nemo switchback review was adhered the... Known for innovative, out-of-the-box designs aimed at making adventures better pad review appeared first on Hikers...

Thin Blue Line Ar-15, Distance Between Ireland And Scotland, Leiria, Portugal Real Estate, Government Jobs Denmark, Vini Raman Country, Isle Of Man Small Claims Court, Ruiner Nergigante Reddit, How To Draw Spider-man Homecoming, Methodist University Basketball,

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *